Day Eleven – In Retrospect

June 24, 2008 at 11:24 pm (daily life) ()

O.K.  So I missed a day.  I figured it  would happen, eventually.  But, I’m not happy about  it.  It was a little goal that I had, to not miss a day of blogging, just for the summer.  So, here is yesterday, in retrospect.

 

It was just a really busy day.  We got an early start and were at Zoo Class by 9:30.  The zoo is a little over 30 minutes away, so that meant that we had to be up and doing Emily’s morning treatment by 7:30 or so.  It was actually a very smooth morning and we were out the door on time!

 

Zoo Classes, as we call them, are short, fun, educational sessions at the Milwaukee County Zoo.  When Isabelle was 2, I took her once a month to Zoo Class.  For the 2’s, the class consists of a song, a story, activities, art projects and snacks built around and animal theme.  Isabelle LOVED Zoo Class at that age.  When she turned three, I wasn’t able to take her due to a “career change”  and a new baby.  Ditto for age 4, since 4 year olds still need to be accompanied by an adult.  Now that she is 5, and Emily is old enough to go to the 2-year old class, we can go again!

 

Isabelle learned about Polar Bears yesterday.  Her class was 2 hours long and included up close and personal time with the bears at the zoo in  addition to the regular activities.  She loved it, as I knew she would, and came home FULL of facts and  information about polar bears and life in the arctic regions.  She’s mentioned blubber to me about ten times and I’m trying not to take it personally.

 

I wasn’t sure how Emily would do in her first zoo class.  She loves books and has done well with our “summer school” sessions at home, but I didn’t think she’d like the structure of the class…”Everybody leave behind the really fun thing you’re dong right now and come to the carpet for a song, RIGHT NOW!”  Not exactly how Em operates.

 

But, I have to  say, I was pleasantly surprised at how well she did!  She tried most of the activities, willingly put away her things when it was time, participated in the songs and games…we had a blast!  The theme of our class was Zoo Music and it was all about the sounds animals make.  She’s got them down  pat…so she loved yelling them out when the teacher asked.  It was a ton of fun for both of us. 

 

We were supposed to visit and feed goats at the end of the class, but, Em is not such a fan of being  close to  animals.  There really isn’t an animal that she likes, and I haven’t pushed the issue, yet.  I figure a little fear isn’t a bad thing, and it’s not like she goes into hysterics, she just clings to the closest available grown-up and hides her face when an animal comes near.  So, she opted to stand next to the fence and describe the goats to me.  “That one is black with white ears.  That  one is little.  There is a big goat with poky things on him head.  Him have long hair on him chin.”  Good enough for me!  Who needs a hand full of goat feed and  slobber, anyway?

While we waited for Iz to finish her class, we rode the merry go  round and played on  one of the great playgrounds that were added to the zoo a few years ago.  She LOVED this.  It wasn’t at all crowded and she could slide to her hearts content.  Much better, in her eyes, than looking at animals that freak her out.  I’m sure she’ll be fine with  animals in  due time.  And, like I said, I’m in no rush.  

 

I think my favorite part of the day was when Emily filled Isabelle in on everything she  had missed while she was  in  her own zoo class.  My little chatterbox recounted pretty much  every event in great detail, from the play-doh to the snack to the merry-go round.  She  was soooooo excited to tell her big sister all about everything.  To her credit, Isabelle  took time to listen, ask questions and respong appropriately.  It make a mom’s  heart smile.

 

After the zoo we had a quick MickeyD’s lunch – Emily, for once, ate GREAT!  She was still munching on a nugget as we headed to the car!

 

We had a 1:00 appointment at the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Office because Em had been asked to appear in a video that will be played at the Gala Fundraiser this fall.  Again, like most things in Em’s life.  I had no idea how she’d do with this.  And, I suppose she did as well as any two year old could do.  She sat, pretty well, on a chair in front of a green screen, and chatted a bit with the camera man.  She answered several questions about Barney and Big Bird, and  then, out of the blue, she said “My Daddy’s  birthday cake is all gone.  I had one piece and then I had another  piece.  I had a yellow flower and a blue flower.”  All very true information, but, WHAT THE HECK?  WHERE did THAT come from?  I commented to the video guy that I wasn’t sure how much of her film time was going to  be useable, and he responded, “Are you kidding?  It’s all useable.  Her only job was to be ridiculously cute, and she had that down the second she sat in the chair!  So, It will be fun to see the finished product at the Gala in September!

 

When we lfinally got home at 3:30 it was  time to  start dinner.  After dinner, I went to the gym, went grocery shopping, and came home to fine the girls still up at 10:00.  Apparently Daddy can’t put two girls to  bed at once.  By the time they were settled and my house was cleaned for the “Coffee Club” the next morning, it was too cose to  midnight  to even think about blogging. 

 

So, that is the LONG explanation  of why I missed a day.  The End.

Leave a Reply

