Day Twelve – Good Times

June 24, 2008 at 11:43 pm (daily life) (, , )

What do you get when you mix coffee, great things to eat, five moms, one dad and 8 kids under age 6?  A really good time, that’s what!

 

The first summer in our new house, I joined an already in progress coffee clatch.  I really enjoyed it and it was a great way to meet t he new neighbors.  Last year, it didn’t happen, or if it did, I wasn’t invited.  I missed it, terribly.  SO, this year I decided to do a small scale version, with just a few of the neighbors that I see regularly.  So, today I hosted a group of neighbors for coffee, sweets and lots of laughs. 

 

The best part of the day was how well the kids played.  Em and Iz were gracious hostesses and we had no squabbles over which toys belonged to whom.  I thought Emily would have a really hard time sharing, but she seemed really happy to have someone to play Little People with.  At one point I heard her say, “Gabby, you wanna help me put the Little People in the house?”  It was fun to  watch these two 2 year olds play side by side, quietly, for almost an hour!  The older kids played mostly outside, so the grown-ups really had time to  talk!

 

Despite a trail of tinker toys throughout the house, the mess really wasn’t too bad.  These eight kids are just really good  kids, and I look forward to many more “coffee parties” as the girls’ call them.

 

 

That was definitely the highlight of the day.  We took a quick, and  quiet  trip to the Library after lunch, Isabelle had dance class – her first session of ballet/tap combo  (LOVE love love the tap shoes!!!!!!), and we feasted on Swiss  Steak that I had cooking in the Crock Pot all day.  Nice day.  The kind of day that  I want many more of!  

Playing TInker Toys with  the  first guests to arrive.

Leave a Reply

