Day Forty-eight (part 2) – Blue’s Clues Ooops

August 2, 2008 at 11:39 am (daily life)

This is what happens when your sister’s obsession with watching Blue’s Clues gets the better of your creative nature

A clue! A clue!

A clue! A clue!

 

The good news is that she used washable marker – intentionally, so  at least she was thinking about what she was doing.  It did come right  off with water and a paper towel.  And, it wouldn’t have mattered so much anyway, since this is just a junky old chair I pull out when we  need extra seating.

But the best part of the whole story is that when I grabbed my camera, a very chagrined Isabelle yelled, “No mom!  Don’t put it on your blog!”

Permalink Leave a Comment

Day Forty-Eight (part 1)- Cheap Fun

August 2, 2008 at 11:26 am (daily life)

Here’s how to have a great day without spending a dime…

Build your own water park

Build your own water park

Get out your crayons and markers...

Get out your crayons and markers...

Invite friends  over for dessert

Invite friends over for dessert

 

OK, so somebody spent dimes somewhere for each  of these fun things.   The slip ‘n slide belongs to our neighbors, but it makes a great waterpark set up on the hill behind our house.  The Care Bear house was purchased at Target, on  clearance for $3.68 three year ago – before Emily was born, so that hardly counts as spending money.  This was the last of the three that  I bought – it’s been taking up room in the basement, so it was time to get it out and set it up!  And the dessert on the front step was the result of the ice cream truck driving through the sub-division just as we were all fininshing dinner.  The parents forked over $3 a  piece for the cool treats and the girls and their neighbor friends ran to our house to enjoy them together.  That ice cream truck driver is no dummy!

Permalink Leave a Comment

Day Forty Seven – Images From a Tuesday

August 2, 2008 at 8:44 am (daily life)

Waiting  until  it's time to leave for Dance Class.

Waiting until it's time to leave for Dance Class.

I want to go to dance class, too.
I want to go to dance class, too.
I just loved the way all the dance bags looked hanging outside the studio.
I just loved the way all the dance bags looked hanging outside the studio.
My pretty girls
My pretty girls

The last picture was so funny.  Emily wanted bubbles in her bath, then she decided to practice her back float from swim class.  To her, that’s really just laying on her back and putting her ears in the water.  It made  for such a funny image.  And, since I almost always have my camera handy these days, I caught it!  Kind of accentuates just how big her eyes are.

Permalink Leave a Comment

Day Forty-Six – Last Zoo Class

August 2, 2008 at 12:01 am (daily life)

I’m sad  to say that our zoo classes are over  for the  summer.  The  girls have both enjoyed them.  It’s been a nice chance to spend time  with Emily doing things we never get to do, just the  two of us.  I have  loved watching  her interact in  these sessions, too.  Today, she had the routine down pat, and  FINALLY participated in the Hello Song.  She’s such a goof.  She just will  not do  anything  until she  is  good and  ready!

Em and I  learned about frogs today, and Isabelle had  Kangaroo class.   They were both very “hoppy” to  tell each other  what they learned.  Emily has been funny about that lately.  She’ll say, “I’m going to tell Isabelle ____________”  or “I’m going to find Daddy and tell him _______________.”  It’s just cute.

 

As much fun as the  classes are for the girls, both of them will tell you (just  ask!) that the   best part of zoo class is what we do after class.  I had really hoped we’d  be able to make a day of it at the zoo, but with  Em not feeling  well, I didn’t want t o  push it.  So, we spent just a bit of time on  the playground, treated ourselves to ice cream (well, a funnel cake for me, and ice cream for  the girls) and then headed home.  The  girls were great!  Em fell asleep on the way home, which was  fine  with me!  She stayed asleep until about twenty minutes before  it  was time to go to the  pediatrician to check on that croupy cough.

Emily’s lungs checked out clear, she had no fever.  The pediatrician feels that my “diagnosis” of croup was the right one, and that the increased daytime cough we are still hearing is probably the result of “twitchy” air-ways, maybe brought on by humidity, air conditioning, or both.  Isn’t THAT a kicker?  She suggested increasing Em’s abuterol, which I had already done.  So, since Em’s acting fine and seems to feel pretty good, it’s life as usual.  Thank goodness.  I’ll keep a close eye on things, of course, but for now,  I’m just glad her lungs were clear.

 

"Hi mom!  Watch me!"

"Hi mom! Watch me!"

 

Goin' up...

Goin' up...

Coming down together!
Coming down together!

Permalink Leave a Comment