Day Fifty-three – The List

August 4, 2008 at 11:33 pm (daily life)

A wise, thinking person might have approached a Must-Do list like mine by tackling the biggest, hardest job first, to make sure that it got done within the time constraints.  Me?  Well, I’m applying the attention defecit method here.  A  little of this, a little of that, a little more of that, and we’ll see where we end up.  I got some small tasks accomplished today.  Unfortunately, or fortunately those led to other small tasks that also needed doing  but weren’t  on the list.  Isn’t that always the way it is with cleaning, though?  I have to say, though, getting these things done felt pretty good.  Uncommonly, good, actually.  I was actually giggling to myself as I  opened and closed my bathroom drawer.  There was nothing to make it “stick” anymore!  Hee hee!  What a feeling!  It’s kind of annoying that these things each  took only a small amount of time.  Why did I let them go so long?  Why don’t I just do things when  they need to be done instead of letting it get so bad that I  don’t even want to tackle it?  Well, in anycase, I managed to cross off a few things.

And, it’s not like I could have jumped right into the painting job, anyway.  My bedroom contains several large objects, like a bed.  And a dresser.  I can’t  move them, which makes prepping to paint kind of difficult.  So, the plan is to start tomorrow night, after I make Daddy move stuff around.

Tomorrow , or part of it anyway, will  be spent at the  State Fair to see my parents receive a certificate honoring them for maintaining a 150 year  old farm.  My dad has been farming it by himself for nearly 50  of those years, so it’s a big deal to him.  He’s retired from dairy farming, officially, but still maintains the land, and rents the buildings to other farmers.  It will be fun to celebrate the honor with him, and then enjoy a bit of the fair. 

So, the list may remain stagnant for a day.  But it sure was nice to get a start!

 

copy (at Office Max) teacher resources for new  units at school and assemble copied pages into page protecters/binders

clean out/organize downstairs hall closet

Clean out/organize spare room closet upstairs and create system for craft supplies

clean out under all bathroom sinks This also led to the cleaning out of drawers, purging of expired medicines, old make-up and 12 empty contact lens cases; and the cleaning out of one linen closet (One more to go, and it’s a dooozy)

Reorganize basement storage shelves

Prep bedroom for painting (clear out room, tape, etc) Started!

paint bedroom

Permalink 3 Comments

Day Fifty-two – Mother’s Helper

August 4, 2008 at 2:18 pm (daily life)

Day fifty-two.  *sigh*  Ten days to go.  It  seems impossible, even though it happens every year and I should be well prepared for the inevitable end of summer, by now.

It’s been a great summer, make no mistake.  I have enjoyed (nearly) every minute of being with my girls.  And, I feel pretty good about the way the summer went.  We were active and busy and the girls got to do a lot of really, really good stuff.

But, what about MOm? Remember that list I made back on Day Four?  The list of things that needed to be done this summer?  Well, I am sad to say that it is largely untouched.  I did keep up with my daily cleaning schedule, pretty well, and I got some things like carpet cleaning and pantry origanization done. But, there are a LOT of things that should have happened this summer that didn’t.

Somethings just can’t be accomplished with a two and a half year old around, and are too big to be done during her nap.  Like painting the bedroom, for example.  Or organizing a closet that is full of things she’s going to want to get into, derailing the organizing process.

So, for a few days,  I’ve called in some help.  My neice, who is soon to be a freshman in high school is visiting.  The idea is, she will keep the girls busy while I tackle some big jobs.  We did this last year, too, with mixed results, but the girls were younger then, and so was my niece.  We’ll see what kind of result we get this year.

For anyone who wants to keep score (and for me…so  I actually get something done!) here’s the list of things to be done before Thursday (yikes!)

 

copy (at Office Max) teacher resources for new  units at school and assemble copied pages into page protecters/binders

clean out/organize downstairs hall closet

Clean out/organize spare room closet upstairs and create system for craft supplies

clean out under all bathroom sinks

Reorganize basement storage shelves

Prep bedroom for painting (clear out room, tape, etc)

paint bedroom

 

HELP!  Looking at it like that it seems there’s no way it will all get done.  But, oh, wouldn’t it feel good to leave for our mini-vacation on Friday with most it the items crossed off?  Wish me luck!

Permalink Leave a Comment

Day Fifty-one – Preserving the Memories

August 4, 2008 at 12:40 am (daily life)

Since this  summer is all but a memory, I decided it was time to start the girls’ memory books.  I’ve  been meaning to print pictures and get going on them, well, all summer, but I realized that  if I  didn’t  start them  now, they were  not going  to happen.

We  bought small scrapbooks on a trip to Hobby Lobby in early July, I think, along with tons of scrapbook stickers and  some fun papers.  I’ve been snapping pics of every fun thing we’ve done.  So, all  I needed was  to  set aside some  time, print some pics and away we went.

Last year Isabelle and  started this tradition.  We simply glued  pictures  into a  little book, embellished  the page  with stickers, drawings, Isabelle’s own handwriting…whatever we needed to  tell the story of the  picture on that page.  She  pulled that book out so many times over the past year that I  knew I  needed to to it again this year.

I made a rule that Isabelle has to  draw or write something  for each   page.  And, like last year, we are typing her story on the computer and  glueing it in to  give the book a  “Professional” look. We’ve done two pages and  they are adorable.  She’s having fun with it, too.

Emily’s book is  a little less  fancy.  For  each picture, I am typing  up a sentence that she “dictates” to me.  We will  add stickers and  stuff, too, but I really want hers to be more like a “word book.”  Just simple and fun.

After a morning of working on their  books, I came downstairs to  find Emily with my camera – opened and ready to  go.  She had her  orange Care Bear and her blanket (Fringy) on the  couch.  When I asked her what she was doing she said, “Mom!  It’s  very important.  I’m trying to take a picture of my friends for my Membery book!”  And sure enough, the  last 7 or 8 pictures on the camera were of a care bear’s butt and head and of a polka-dotted fleece blanket.   How sweet is  that?

Permalink 1 Comment

Days Forty-nine and Fifty – The Great Outdoors

August 4, 2008 at 12:08 am (daily life)

Camping.  It’s been a love/hate relationship kind of thing for me for the last 15 or so years.  I never camped as a child.  Not in a tent anyway.  I did 4-H camp  and church camp where we slept in cabins and the day’s worth of activities was all planned out for us.  Oh, and choir camp, drama camp, forensics camp…yes, I was that geeky…but those were on college campuses.

So, as a young adult, with a group of friends who had camped their whole lives,  I had a lot of learning to do.  Most of the time I tolerated the two or three days pretty well.  Sometimes I hated most of it and wanted to go home, but more often, I loved it.  It all depended on my mood, the “social climate” (i.e. how well the group was getting along that particular trip) and the weather.  The weather was probably the most important factor.  There is, quite possibly, nothing worse than waking up in the middle of the night, in a tent, in the middle of a puddle, with wet nylon stuck to your face because your tent had just collapsed under the weight of t he rain.  If there is something worse, it involves lightning and a screen tent.

I am pretty sure that my husband has the same ambivalent feelings about camping that I do.  Throw into the mix his asthma which renders him crabby and fairly useless in conditions like, say, high humidity, high pollen, dust and dirt, musty tents and he’s not generally a happy camper. In his defense, I’d imagine it is hard to be agreeable when you can’t breathe, can’t sleep and insist on drinking all the alcohol that you packed before the ice in the cooler melts.

So, we went from  being two adults who could “take it or leave it” but usually chose  “take it” because it was mostly fun, to being two parents who could leave it, and  be  fine.

But, there is the small matter that our friends (and to some extent family…but this isn’t the place for a discussion of that) camp. And, no matter how old and  “mature” I get, I still HATE to be left out of things.

And, Isabelle really, really REALLY wants to camp.  I probably could not have heard her ask one more time “When  are we going to sleep outside in a tent?”  or “When are we going to camp with the  (insert friends’ surname) family?” or “We have camping supplies in the garage, right?  There’s a big green box that says Camping supplies on it.  It probably has everything we need to go  camping, right? So when are we going to go?”

Camping with kids presents its  own share of problems, particularly to someone  who doesn’t LOVE it.  Camping with a kid with CF…well, there’s a lot to think about.  How will we do her treatments and tube feedings?  What if she picks up some bacteria in the lake?  How do we keep her out of the smoke from the  campfire?  What if it rains and we get soaked in the tent?  Even a slight cold  has the  potential to turn into pneumonia which  means hospital…Is it worth it? 

Yes.

I promised myself long ago that CF will not steal simple pleasures from us.  That, regardless of the risks (within reason) Emily will LIVE.  Experience everything she can.  If that means a family camping trip that her sister is begging for (and, in all honesty, Mom is starting to crave, too…) then so be it. 

So weI decided we’d give it a try.  We’d just go, I decided. We’d make the best of the noise of the feeding pump (Not to mention the possibility of the sticky sweet smell of the formula making us an all-night diner for raccoons, rabbits, deer and bears… We’d do a treatment the hour before we left and again as soon as we’d get back.  We’d do our best to keep her hands clean and keep her out of direct smoke from the campfire.  Whatever it took.  We’d just go.  We’d swim, eat s’mores, enjoy our friends, hike, tell ghost stories or play “I’m going camping…” 

And we went.  Albeit it was only for one night, and it was only 20 minutes from home, and, oh yeah, Daddy brought Emily home at night for her treatments and feeding and so they could both sleep in the comfort of air conditioning.  But, we did it, and it was fabulous.

Isabelle was so happy.  So excited to do something new.  Emily really really really wanted to stay and sleep in the tent, but she got over it, and she knows she gets to do it  next year. Both girls just loved the swimming.  We all loved dinner.  As a very wise young camper once said, “Everything tastes better outside.”

This little mini trip was all I needed to build some confidence that we can do a little longer trip next  year.  Emily will still only be three, so we’ll still stick close to  home in case we need to make a run for it in the middle of the night.  But, we’ll go.  and it’s nice to know we can.

"Hmmm.  This sleeping bag is pretty comfy!  I could sleep here tonight, I think."

"Hmmm. This sleeping bag is pretty comfy! I could sleep here tonight, I think."

"Oh, I am getting  soooo sleepy"

"Oh, I am getting soooo sleepy"

"I am so tired!  You better just let me sleep here tonight, mom!"

"I am so tired! You better just let me sleep here tonight, mom!"

Ahhh, this is the life!  Sitting  around the camp fire in my jammies and hoodie!  Thanks mom!

Ahhh, this is the life! Sitting around the camp fire in my jammies and hoodie! Thanks mom!

Permalink Leave a Comment